Tags

, , , , , ,

Women want validation.  The Song of Solomon doesn’t rebuke this desire.  It’s how women were built.

The Woman states:

I am very dark, but lovely,

The Woman’s focus on her beauty is noteworthy.  The Man responds to the Woman’s need for validation:

If you do not know,
    O most beautiful among women,
follow in the tracks of the flock,
    and pasture your young goats
    beside the shepherds’ tents.

I compare you, my love,
    to a mare among Pharaoh’s chariots.
Your cheeks are lovely with ornaments,
    your neck with strings of jewels.

Notice the emphasis on the Woman’s beauty by the Man.  He calls the Woman “beautiful” and “lovely”.  Not only “beautiful” but “most beautiful”–the superlative is especially emphatic and shows how women compare themselves with other women.

And the man shortly thereafter emphasizes the woman’s beauty yet again:

Behold, you are beautiful, my love;
    behold, you are beautiful;
    your eyes are doves.

Twice in one verse the man says, “You are beautiful.”  The purpose of the repetition is emphasis.

We see this emphasis again in the next chapter:

Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
    and come away.
O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,
    in the crannies of the cliff,
let me see your face,
    let me hear your voice,
for your voice is sweet,
    and your face is lovely.

And again in chapter four:

Behold, you are beautiful, my love,
    behold, you are beautiful!

and the man subsequently goes into exquisite detail about the Woman’s beauty.

Why all this emphasis on Women’s beauty in the Song of Solomon?  Could it be because the author wants us to see that women need validation?