Breaking rapport is a key element of Game.  Breaking rapport involves ending physical/mental/emotional engagement with another person.  It is often accomplished by leaving the presence of the other person or by bringing up a matter of urgency such as the need to depart.

We see breaking rapport in the Song of Solomon quite a lot, though it is often implied rather than stated in the text.  Each of the lovers frequently speaks to the other as though the other lover isn’t physically present.  Since the lovers are separated, one of them had to leave the other.  Typically, it’s the man who breaks rapport and goes away.

Tell me, you whom my soul loves,
    where you pasture your flock,
    where you make it lie down at noon…

 If you do not know,
    O most beautiful among women,
follow in the tracks of the flock,
    and pasture your young goats
    beside the shepherds’ tents.   (SoS 1:7-8)

 The voice of my beloved!
    Behold, he comes,
leaping over the mountains,
    bounding over the hills.
My beloved is like a gazelle
    or a young stag. (SoS 2:8-9)

My beloved speaks and says to me:
“Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
    and come away, (S0S 2:10)

Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
    and come away. (SoS 2:13)

On my bed by night
I sought him whom my soul loves;
    I sought him, but found him not.
I will rise now and go about the city,
    in the streets and in the squares;
I will seek him whom my soul loves. (SoS 3:1-2)

I slept, but my heart was awake.
A sound! My beloved is knocking.
“Open to me, my sister, my love,
    my dove, my perfect one, (SoS 5:2)

I adjure you, O daughters of Jerusalem,
    if you find my beloved,
that you tell him
    I am sick with love. (SoS 5:8)

Make haste, my beloved,
    and be like a gazelle
or a young stag
    on the mountains of spices. (SoS 8:14)

Indeed, the Song of Solomon ends with the woman imploring her lover to speedily return to her.  The pattern of love in the Song of Solomon is that the man continually breaks rapport and reestablishes it.  It seems, from reading the Song of Solomon, that the breaking of rapport is an essential part of romantic love.  The desire for rapport strengthens the bond and that rapport must be reestablished periodically in order for the love to grow.